Indianapolis, Indiana,  skyline at night

IUSON: A Legacy of Leadership

Celebrating 100 Years of Nursing (1914-2014)

Since our doors opened in 1914, the IU School of Nursing has been a catalyst for change in education, practice, and research. That spirit of innovation lives on in our students and 30,000 living alumni across the globe.

Points of Pride

  • three female and one male student standing around a poster

    Four IUSON BSN honor students, (L to R) Cassie Vodde, Nicole Birch, Katie Williams, and Charles Elomba presented their poster entitled "Reducing Infant Mortality in Indiana: Nursing Interventions for Safe Sleep” at the IUSM-sponsored Patient Safety Day. Dr. Debra Cullen was the students' research mentor, and Dr. Deborah Stiffler was the colloquium leader. Patient Safety Day promotes care quality improvement through collaboration among clinical leaders and healthcare providers, educators, and students throughout the state.

  • stone pillar with the words school of nursing engraved upon it

    Please consider nominating an IUSON staff member or, if you are a staff member, please consider nominating yourself, for a staff award. The available awards are: The Unsung Hero Award, Mary Ellen Oberlander Spirit Award, Marilyn J. Pesci Staff Award, IUSON Core Values Award, Dean’s Staff Award for Innovation, and Dean’s Staff Award for Partnerships. Nominations are due on April 13. For more details, please consult the March 17 email from Dave Blankenship.

  • Four women smiling and holding a certificate

    On March 13th Dr. Judith Halstead, and (L to R) Dr. Susan Hendricks, Julie Lamothe, Dr. Deborah Stiffler, and Betsy Lee presented an abstract (with a podium and poster presentation) at Indiana University School of Medicine Graduate Medical Education Patient Safety Council, Patient Safety Day 2015. The project, sponsored by a HRSA NEPQR grant, “Cultivating Interprofessional Collaborative Practice Environments in Rural Primary Care Clinics,” won first place. Congratulations!

  • Woman smiling

    IUSON PhD student Heidi Holtz will present her abstract entitled, "Faculty Incivility in Nursing Education: Results of an Integrative Review" during the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) 2015 Hot Issues Conference in Las Vegas, NV. The 25-minute podium presentation will occur on Friday, April 17, 2015. Great work!

  • Woman smiling

    Associate professor and co-director of the Research in Palliative and End-of-Life Communication and Training (RESPECT) Center, Susan Hickman, is being honored with the 2015 Bantz-Petronio Translating Research into Practice (TRIP) faculty award. The TRIP award acknowledges the outstanding translational research of a faculty member at IUPUI. The candidates’ research must be interdisciplinary and/or cross-disciplinary with the intent of positively impacting people’s lives. Congratulations!

  • Woman smiling

    PhD student and Woltman Scholar, C. C. Tang, has been working with IUSON faculty members Susan Hickman and Lucia Wocial to coordinate the April 1st Kaye Woltman Endowed Visiting Lectureship entitled “Clinical, Ethical, and Policy Challenges of Optimal Care for Frail Elders.” C.C. has been assisting visiting scholar Dr. Joann Lynn with her documentation and itinerary and will act as Dr. Lynn’s resource person while she is on campus.

Upcoming Events

See more events »