Accreditation, Honors & Awards

Our accreditation

Indiana University School of Nursing is composed of campuses in Bloomington, Fort Wayne, and Indianapolis. We share a curriculum and a governance structure.

All of our bachelor’s, master’s, and Doctor of Nursing Practice programs are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, 655 K Street, NW Suite 750, Washington, DC 20001, 202-887-6791.

Recognition for our excellence

The IU School of Nursing has been widely recognized as one of the leading schools of its kind in the nation. 

Our Master’s and DNP programs were named among U.S. News & World Report's “Best Graduate Nursing Schools 2024”: 

  • The Master’s program ranked in the top 50 nationally.
  • The DNP program ranked in the top 75 nationally.

IU School of Nursing's Master's program ranked No. 2 in the U.S. News & World Report's "Best Online Graduate Programs" for 2024:

IU School of Nursing's Bachelor's program was ranked in the top 25 "Best Colleges" ranking from U.S. News & World Report:

  • Ranked #1 BSN program in Indiana.
  • Ranked #4 among public universities.

We are honored to be the first school in the nation to be designated by the National League for Nursing (NLN) as a Center of Excellence in Nursing Education in two categories:

NLN center of excellence in nursing education

  • Advancing the Science of Nursing Education (2021-2026)
  • Promoting the Pedagogical Expertise of Faculty (2022-2026)

Our world-renowned faculty

Our faculty are dedicated to ensuring students’ success through innovative teaching practices and curricula. Many faculty are distinguished fellows in national nursing organizations, including:

Current and Emerita Faculty

Joan Austin
Margaret Applegate
Tamilyn Bakas
Jan Beckstrand
Diane Billings
Judith Boerger
Marion Broome
Janice Buelow
Janet Carpenter
Victoria Champion
Sharron Crowder
Claire Draucker
Patricia Ebright
Rebecca Ellis
Jennifer Embree
Janet Fulton
Joan Haase
Judith Halstead
Amy Knopf
Yvonne Lu
Joanne Martin
Rose Mays
Angela Barron McBride
Anna McDaniel
Wendy Trueblood Miller
Robin Newhouse
Julie Otte
Susan Pressler
Deanna Reising
Carol Shieh
Susan Rawl
Diane Von Ah


Cheng-Ming Chen
Rhonda Collins
Pam Hunt
Carol Johnson
Karen Moore
Jan Powers
Chad Priest
Mary Sitterding

Marion Broome
Janet Carpenter
Robin Newhouse

Janet Phillips
Melinda Swenson
Angela Barron McBride
Diane Billings (Honorary)
Janet Fulton
Deanna Reising
Donna Boland
Judy Halstead
Sherry Sims

Sharon Sims
Melinda Swenson

Janet Fulton